Erika Armstrong Logo
  • AUTHOR
  • SPEAKER
  • MURPHY LAW BREAKER

Up in the Air


The Normalcy of Deviance: Why Pilots Break This Rule

Thursday, December 28, 2017

As we leveled off at FL510, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. Even though this altitude would make an SR-71 pilot roll their eyes, it still felt like we were on the edge of the universe. You could see the transition of our atmosphere to the darkness of space, it was eerily quiet, and the curve of the earth reminded me I was less than a speck in the cosmos.  Read full post...


The Night Before Christmas - Aviation Style

Wednesday, December 20, 2017
 Read full post...

The Pilot

Wednesday, December 13, 2017
 Read full post...

The Chink in Every Pilot's Armor

Thursday, November 23, 2017
 Read full post...

Empty Cockpits: "On Demand", In Demand

Friday, September 15, 2017

Empty Cockpits: “On Demand”, In Demand

 Read full post...

Aviation Mountain Gods: Enter the Mosh Pit

Thursday, September 07, 2017
 Read full post...

Empty Cockpits: Corporate Flight Departments

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Editor’s Note: Advanced Aircrew Academy (AAA) and the National Business Aircraft Association (NBAA) are collaborating on how best to gather the needs of all sectors of the aviation industry, address the pilot shortage, and find innovative ways to provide solutions. Since each category of operations impacts the other, we will analyze the challenges of each category of operations – Part 91 Business Aviation, 135 Charter and 121 Airline - and then see how each category influences the other.

 Read full post...

Several Factors Cited In Low Number of Women Pilots

Friday, July 07, 2017

 Read full post...


What is a Pilot?

Tuesday, July 04, 2017

 Read full post...


Empty Cockpits: Corporate Flight Departments

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

 Read full post...